Notes on my Black Eagles class, if I was a proper teacher

I’ve been playing Fire Emblem Three Houses and I love it, but the Adult in me has Questions.
(some spoilers to follow)

Edelgard: Hard worker and a definite class leader. She does however take on quite a bit and can be overbearing to her classmates. I would like to see her try to make some more time to relax and perhaps enjoy her school days more. I have never seen her laugh.

Hubert: A very serious and intelligent student, who sadly, and apparently deliberately, frightens most of his classmates and teachers. He has sent me thinly veiled death threats on numerous occasions, which is deeply disturbing. Utterly devoted to Edelgard, but should socialize a bit outside of that circle, preferably in a non-threatening manner.

Ferdinand: Diligent, seems quite earnest but is prone to unsolicited shouting out of his lineage, quite often at inopportune times. Confident. Sadly, he is resistent to most forms of criticism, making it hard to teach anything outside of his interests. Has a strange rivalry with Edelgard.

Bernadetta: Deeply insecure, which is understandable considering her home life. I’m attaching a report for child protection services. At the very least, I (and possibly my sword) would like to have some Stern Words with her parents about her upbringing. Well meaning and fragile but luckily she is growing into a less frightened young woman. I have confidence that with the right guidance she may overcome most of her difficulties.

Linhardt: Very smart but unmotivated student. I fear he has an issue with some classes not being challenging enough for him. Or he could be lazy. Either way, his grades are good, but his attendance is not. Very blunt in his mannerisms and honestly, he should know better.

Caspar: A highly energetic and motivated student, but he does have trouble keeping his voice down. Seems very eager to prove himself, and is a joy to have in a classroom.

Petra: This exchange student is doing quite well and has managed to fit in with the group. Friendly and sociable, her grasp of her second language is not a hindrance to anything but her self esteem. Does push herself too hard. Like Edelgard, would benefit from some relaxation time.

Dorothea: A social butterfly with a sharp tongue and a keen mind. Studies hard and seems quite popular in the group despite certain… class tensions with some of the nobles. Working points: for a young woman of her talent, she does appear to have quite low self esteem.

Sylvain: A new transfer to the class. Intelligent and athletic, but quite, let’s say, carefree in his ways. The way he interacts with others, particularly young women, is bound to get him in trouble sooner rather than later.
Extra note: an exercise involving field work right after his joining my class horrifically resulted in the death of Sylvain’s brother, possibly even at his hand. This is obviously a traumatizing event and I have tried talking to him about it but he appears unaffected, almost cheerful, even. I’m submitting a request to have him see the counsellor.

Flayn: A young transfer to my class, after… Am I reading that right? She was kidnapped for a MONTH!? Why are you putting her in my class right after? She needs some therapy at the very least – oh her brother is the dean? Right. Anyway. Earnest worker if a bit flightly. Seems unused to social interaction. I would love her to fit in well in the group.

Monica: … A year. She was gone an entire Year??? And we’re pretending that didn’t happen? She’s gonna sit in my class and be super diligent and cheerful so she can graduate. Are we not gonna talk about how no one in this institution noticed her gone? Did her parents not miss her? What is wrong with you people? Goddess help us all.

Leave a comment